WHAT IS A PROTOCOL ?

Protocols are set of rules and procedures for communicating. There are many protocols are used but some are commonly used protocols. They are:

TCP/IP

NetBEUI

DECnet

X.25

IPX/SPX and

AppleTalk

But the most important protocol is TCP/IP. In this protocol data transmission is managed by dividing the data into different pieces called packets. Each packet of data contains a part of actual data, source computer address, destination address, and information for reassembling data at destination computer. These packets of data travel along the fastest available path in the network. This type of data transmission is called packet switching and is used in internet communication. This is the reason that the protocol is also called Internet Protocol.

TCP/IP is divided into 3 usable classes and 2 experimental classes. Class A, B, C are usable classes and D, E are experimental classes. We can not use experimental classes in network.

Classes Range

A 1.X.X.X 126.X.X.X

B 128.X.X.X 191.X.X.X

C 192.X.X.X 223.X.X.X

D 224.X.X.X 239.X.X.X

E 240.X.X.X 254.X.X.X

127.X.X.X is used for troubleshooting.

18 thoughts on “WHAT IS A PROTOCOL ?

  1. I just sent this post to a bunch of my friends as I agree with most of what you’re saying here and the way you’ve presented it is awesome.

  2. Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!

    –Robert Shumake Fifth Third

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

